March 16, 2020 — Holiday Island Earns Best Tasting Drinking Water Award

Dan Schrader of the Holiday Island Suburban Improvement District (SID) did the honors when he accepted first place for best tasting drinking water on March 11th at the Center for Nonprofits in Rogers during the monthly meeting of the Northwest District of the Arkansas Waterworks and Water Environment Association (AWW&WEA). Holiday Island will now compete for the statewide award during the 2020 Annual Conference & Exposition of AWW&WEA, which will be held April 27-29 in Hot Springs.

Second place resulted in a 3-way tie between the City of Bentonville, Bella Vista Property Owners Association (POA) and Beaver Water District. Other competitors included Rogers Water Utilities, Springdale Water Utilities, and Washington Water Authority.

Mitchell Reddington, Nathan Miles, and Ben Kennedy with Rausch Coleman served as judges. They evaluated and scored water samples on clarity, color, odor, and taste.

Past winners include Springdale Water Utilities (2019), Rogers Water Utilities (2018), City of Bentonville (2017), Rogers Water Utilities (2016), Prairie Grove (2015), Beaver Water District (2014), and Rogers Water Utilities (2013).

The Northwest District of the AWW&WEA was formed in 1950. Its mission is to encourage the education and licensing of its members in the field of water and wastewater systems, and to provide a venue by which the members can share information, obtain training, and improve the overall standing of water professions. Monthly meetings are held in various cities throughout the 10-county district in Northwest Arkansas. The following individuals are NW District 2020 officers: Mayo Miller, Jacobs Engineering, Chair; Zak Johnston, Washington Water Authority, Secretary/Treasurer; and Austin Ramsfield, Jacobs Engineering, Vice Chair. Visit for more information.