October 16, 2018 – UA Students Awarded Steele-Croxton Memorial Scholarships: Donations Sought For Students Focusing on Careers in the Water Sector

Bill Watkins of Rogers, President of Beaver Water District’s Board of Directors, recognized University of Arkansas students Emily Sherrill of Rogers, and Alyssa Ferri and Trent Woessner (not pictured) both of Fayetteville with Steele-Croxton Memorial Scholarships.

The Beaver Water District (BWD) Board of Directors recently recognized University of Arkansas students Trent Woessner and Alyssa Ferri of Fayetteville and Emily Sherrill of Rogers, with Steele-Croxton Memorial Scholarships of $2000 each for this academic year (Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 semesters). The scholarships are funded by participating Beaver Water District board members and others who contribute to the Steele-Croxton Memorial Scholarships. Each director donates her/his board meeting attendance fees to the Scholarship Fund. The fund is managed by the University of Arkansas Foundation Inc. Donations may be made payable to the Joe M. Steele & Hardy W. Croxton Memorial Scholarship Endowment and mailed to Gift Services, 300 University House, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR 72701. For more information about making a tax-deductible donation, contact Emily Wood, Associate Director of Development and External Relations for the UA College of Engineering, at eewood@uark.edu or call (479) 575- 3075.  Scholarships provide financial assistance to upperclassman or graduate students in the Departments of Civil Engineering, Biological and Agricultural Engineering or Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences who have demonstrated interest in drinking water treatment, wastewater treatment, environmental or life sciences. The Scholarship Fund began in 2006 at the encouragement of former BWD board member Walter Turnbow of Springdale. The scholarship is named in honor of the late Joe M. Steele, who served on the BWD Board for many years and played a pivotal role in the founding of BWD and the building of the first water treatment plant and the water intake at Beaver Lake, and the late Hardy W. Croxton, who served on the BWD board for 40 years. The first scholarship of $1,000 was awarded in 2011. Since that time, $40,100 has been awarded.